We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue
The Carduccis & Matthew Hunt (11B)

The Carduccis & Matthew Hunt (11B)

Artist in Residence Series

The Carducci Quartet and Matthew Hunt (clarinet) 

Howells - Rhapsodic Quintet  
Bartok - String Quartet no. 2  
Mozart - Clarinet Quintet

Matthew Hunt makes the first of his residency appearances, as he joins the Carducci Quartet for Howells’ eloquent Rhapsodic Quintet and Mozart’s sublime Quintet in A major, one of the composer’s most admired works. In between, the Carduccis will play the second of Bartok’s six string quartets. For health reasons, Bartók avoided army service during WWI; he spent that difficult period collecting folk fragments, the influences of which are clear in the writing of this work, which premiered in 1918.

Post-concert lunch £25 for 2-course; £30 for 3 courses. Please book direct with Swinfen Hall on 01543 481494 

This event is presented by Lichfield Festival, with Lichfield Garrick acting as a ticket agent.

Duration: 120

  • Wed 11 Jul 11:30 AM £18